6mm green skinners

I’d eyed up Vanguard Miniatures as a possible source for a variety of 5 Parsecs opponents but alas they only seem to come in sizeable batches of 40-odd minis, whereas I’m only interested in ten or so of the same type of figure. Fortunately there was an ebay job lot which had a motley collection of minis from Vanguard’s different options, including these bruiser aliens:

I tried a lighter terrain top (which, although it’s not hugely evident in the photo, does have a highlight layer) with the aim to make the minis themselves stand out a bit more; the previous, darker brown meant that from a foot away or so the figure started camouflaging into their base and became almost an amorphous mass, unhelpfully difficult to distinguish from their neighbouring blobs. It does mean a rethink as to how I might do interior scenery for them, as this light brown will contrast with the usual dark floors beyond my acceptable suspension of disbelief, but it does help set these greenskins apart from their bases enough to let the eye determine what’s meant to be figure and what isn’t.

I aimed for a raggedly uniform look by using the same three browns applied to different articles of clothing, went for a drybrush-assisted working out of what parts of the skin should be highlighted over a coat of contrast paint and panicked as I tried dabbing the off-white paint in just the right places for the teeth. There’s one chap on whom I could only locate one tooth, and I chickened out on daubing a second alongside.

Now to recolour the bases of the troopers and adventurers.

One thought on “6mm green skinners

Leave a comment